Find out what the flavors and options of dairy-free ice cream are available from the Breyers brand to keep cool on warm summer days.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Taking a walk down the ice cream aisle at the store and wondering which brands have dairy-free options for you as you’ve been steering clear of dairy during this season of your life?
Breyers is a popular brand of ice cream for dairy lovers, but do they also offer anything for folks like you and I who might be looking for something just as delicious without the dairy ingredients?
In this post, we’re answering these questions by digging into the Breyers dairy-free ice cream options that are available on the market.
I know so many people love this brand, so I thought it would be useful to do a quick deep dive into the options we can rely on for the warm weather days when nothing can satisfy like a scoop of cold (dairy-free) ice cream.
What is Breyers?
Breyers is a popular brand of ice cream in the United States. They have been around since 1866 and have a wide variety of different flavors that can be found at most major grocery stores around the country.
While the original ice cream offered by Breyers used to only be made of natural ingredients, according to Wikipedia, when Unilever took over as the manufacturer of this brand, changes to the recipe followed.
Breyers now contains more thickeners, sweeteners, food coloring, and additives than it did before being sold to the Unilever brand in 2008.
Breyers has different options of ice cream for their different customers. Their current product lineup includes options such as their Carb Smart, non-dairy (dairy-free), non-GMO, and gluten-free varieties.
Though some folks confuse the Breyers and Dreyer’s ice cream brands, know that these are two unique companies with different manufacturers.
Does Breyers only make ice cream with dairy?
No. While Breyers’ main product lineup includes dairy, they also make non-dairy or dairy-free ice cream options for folks who are avoiding dairy as well. These are made with oat milk or almond milk as a base instead of cow’s milk.
Breyers has various different lines of ice cream that they make, including Carb Smart, non-GMO, and gluten-free varieties. They also make ice cream that have no sugar added and some that are lactose-free as well, in addition to their dairy-free products.
Does Breyers make dairy-free ice cream?
Yes, you can find dairy-free ice cream from the Breyers brand. This is super helpful for folks who are dairy-free due to intolerances or food allergies.
We’ll go through all the options and details of what you need to know about Breyers dairy-free ice cream to help you make decisions next time you’re perusing the frozen treat aisle at the store.
What flavors and options of Breyers dairy-free ice cream are available?
According to the Breyers website, these are the flavors and varieties that you can find that are dairy-free (also listed as non-dairy):
- Non-Dairy Vanilla
- Non-Dairy Cookies & Creme
- Non-Dairy Mint Chocolate Chip
What are the ingredients used in Breyers dairy-free ice cream?
Since there are only three options in Breyers dairy-free ice cream, let’s go through each one and have a look at their specific ingredients as listed on their labels:
“Water, oat milk (water, hydrolyzed oats), sugar, coconut oil, corn syrup, soluble corn fiber, less than 2% of: soy protein isolate, mono and diglycerides, natural flavor, cellulose gum, guar gum, polysorbate 80, carob bean gum, salt, polysorbate 65, soy lecithin, carrageenan, annatto (for color).”
“Almond milk (water, almonds), liquid sugar (sugar, water), coconut oil, sugar, wheat flour, corn syrup solids, water, less than 2% of fava bean protein, dutched cocoa (processed with alkali), sunflower oil, soy protein isolate, salt, mono and diglycerides, sodium bicarbonate, natural flavor (coconut), guar gum, carb bean gum, soy lecithin.”
“Almond milk (water, almonds), liquid sugar (sugar, water), coconut oil, corn syrup solids, sugar, less than 2% of: dutched cocoa (processed with alkali), pea protein, mono and diglycerides, natural flavor, soy lecithin, guar gum, carob bean gum.”
Is Breyers dairy-free ice cream gluten-free?
Within the three options of Breyers dairy-free ice cream, two of the flavors are also gluten-free. The Non-Dairy Vanilla and the Non-Dairy Mint Chocolate Chip are labeled as gluten-free.
The Non-Dairy Cookies & Creme flavor contains wheat in the cookies, and the ingredients list is explicit in stating that this product contains wheat. With that in mind, this flavor is not a good choice if you’re also avoiding gluten in addition to dairy in your diet.
Read on: Is Breyers ice cream gluten-free?
If you’ve been wondering what the Breyers dairy-free ice cream options are this summer for cooling off and enjoying a sweet treat, I hope this information will help you make a quick and easy decision next time you’re looking through the frozen treats section at the grocery store.