Find out what Slurpees are, what they’re made of, where you can buy them, and if they’re a safe treat for you on a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re looking for ways to stay cool this summer, you may have wondered if Slurpees are a good choice for you on a gluten-free diet.
With all the various frozen treats and drinks available in the warm weather months, it’s not always clear which ones are gluten-free and which aren’t.
In this post, we’re going to outline what Slurpees are, where you can find them, what flavors they come in, and of course, we’ll talk about what they’re made of.
We’ll then answer the question you came here for – Are Slurpees gluten-free?
Keep scrolling to find out!
What are Slurpees?
Slurpees are a brand name frozen treat that you can buy from 7-Eleven convenience stores. They’re made from ice, carbonated water, and a flavored syrup creating a carbonated slushy texture.
They usually come in bright colors and bold flavors, which we’ll talk about in more detail below.
They’re popular in the summer months, because they’re ice cold and folks love to drink them to cool off on hot days. Slurpees come in different sizes, but even the smallest option is a pretty large cup.
While Slurpees are the name brand option from 7-11 stores, you can also find similar drinks under names like “Icee” and “slushy.” Interestingly in different areas, the common name might be “Slurpee” or “Icee” depending on where you are in the US or elsewhere.
Whatever you call them, they’re all basically the same type of frozen drink with bright colors, big flavors, coming in larger than life sizes.
Where can I buy a Slurpee?
A Slurpee is a brand name of frozen slushy drink and can be bought only at 7-Eleven convenience stores.
Other slushy drinks that are basically the same thing but under other names can be found at various convenience stores, movie theaters, and fast food restaurants – like McDonalds, Sonic, or Taco Bell.
What flavors do Slurpees come in?
The Slurpees from 7-Eleven come in various flavors that rotate out, but the most common and popular options are cherry, blue raspberry, and Coca-Cola.
Other flavors you might find (though this will vary from location to location) are grape, watermelon, lemonade, pina colada, strawberry, blueberry lemonade, Mountain Dew citrus, peach, green apple, cotton candy, banana, coconut, orange, and raspberry.
7-Eleven also puts out seasonal flavors every year, as well, so keep an eye out for those if you’re a big Slurpee fan.
What are Slurpees made of?
Most Slurpees have similar ingredients with the variation coming from the flavoring that’s included. Here’s what you can find in two of most popular flavors of Slurpees:
“Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, filtered water, citric acid, malic acid, yucca extract, natural and artificial flavors, ascorbic acid, quillaia extract, sodium benzoate, FD&C blue #1”
“Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, water, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural flavors, caffeine, quillaia extract, yucca extract.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape. You can create a malt from any of these grains.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Are Slurpees gluten-free?
Slurpees don’t generally have any gluten-containing ingredients in their products and are considered safe for folks on a gluten-free diet.
Under the “Allergens” tab of the various flavors on the 7-Eleven website, they state the there are “No detectable allergens, gluten-free.” This can help put your mind at ease with being able to enjoy this frozen drink.
While Slurpees are okay to enjoy on a gluten-free diet, you may want to opt for them to be an occasional treat as they’re loaded with sugar and not great for you to consume as an “all the time” food.
Are Slurpees dairy-free?
None of the various Slurpee flavors that I reviewed on the 7-Eleven website showed any dairy ingredients. These are generally considered safe for folks who are also following a dairy-free diet in addition to avoiding gluten.
That said, if this is something you are concerned about due to a dairy allergy, be sure to consult the folks at the 7-Eleven you frequent for a full list of ingredients in the Slurpee flavors that they are serving to determine if it’s a good fit for your needs.
If you’ve been wondering if you can enjoy a Slurpee this summer or particularly on 7/11, National Slurpee Day, I hope this information has been helpful for you!